About Us

Board of Directors


Tom Ackley has been a member of the MCF Board since 2011 and enjoys helping MCF continue to expand its charitable footprint in the Sarpy and Cass county areas. “I’ve been blessed to be aware of the MCF mission for over 20 years, and I’ll always be thankful to Karla Rupiper for asking me to get more involved in MCF when she was President of the Board. Our MCF Board is a ‘working board’, and each member is active and engaged in ensuring that the MCF mission is fulfilled each year. Thanks to our Board and the dedicated work of Tonee, Diane and Andrea, the MCF story continues to be told to an ever-expanding audience of donors who want to see their charitable dollars benefit the Sarpy and Cass county communities.”

Each member of the MCF Board serves on one or more committees to assist in event planning, community awareness, fundraising, and processing grant requests. As a member of the Grants Committee for many years, Tom had an opportunity to review hundreds of grant requests and become educated on the work of numerous charitable and civic groups who seek donations from MCF to help them fulfill their missions in the Sarpy and Cass county area. “It’s always gratifying to review our biannual grant requests and realize how many great organizations are doing good work in our communities. Grants from MCF account for over $200,000 going directly into our communities each year, and grants from over 140 charitable funds and endowments managed by MCF account for an additional $1 million or more each year getting distributed to charitable causes. We can truly make a difference in our communities by funding donations through MCF each year and supporting the MCF mission.”

During his “day job”, Tom is a Shareholder at the Koley Jessen law firm where he has practiced in the areas of banking and finance, real estate, and corporate law. Tom advises clients on all aspects of loan transactions, and also works to maximize municipal financing opportunities with bond and grant financing, including the use of tax increment financing, industrial redevelopment bonds and the Nebraska Advantage Act. Tom’s banking and finance background complements his representation of developers in the acquisition, sale and leasing of real estate, as well as his representation of business owners related to proper entity selection at formation and ongoing business issues.

Prior to entering law school, Tom served as an officer in the United States Air Force for six years. In addition to his work with MCF, Tom has served the local community through his involvement with the Sarpy County Planning Commission, Bellevue Planning Commission, Bellevue Economic Enhancement Foundation, Bellevue Chamber of Commerce, Kiwanis Club of Bellevue, and the Nebraska State Bar Association.

Executive Committee

Tom Ackley

Rick Iske
Vice President

Kevin Dasher Treasurer/Secretary

Spencer Kimball Assistant Treasurer

Janet Barna

Julie Bear

Kathy Wendlandt Member

Board Members

Rod Buethe, Gretna

Jan Davis, Gretna

Valerie Downs, Springfield/Louisville

Mary Gawecki, Papillion

Kara Habrock, Louisville

John Jungers, Bellevue

Dr. Jim Langley, Papillion

Tammi Palm, Bellevue and Cass County

Lee Polikov, Bellevue

Matt Pospisil, Bellevue

Karla Rupiper, Papillion

Leanne Sotak, Papillion

Barb Slattery, Nehawka

Kevyn Sopinski, Papillion

Ken Summerfield, Papillion