Midlands Community Foundation Events

MCF Golf Tournament

Midlands Community Foundation’s annual golf tournament is commonly held in May.  The proceeds generated from this tournament go toward the mission of Midlands Community Foundation.  The golf tournament is best known for the countless volunteers, sack lunches and our tasty steak dinners.

Midlands Community Foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization (ID #51-0191738), therefore, donations in excess of the value received are deductible as charitable contributions.

For more information on Midlands Community Foundation’s Golf Tournament, contact us at 402-991-8027

MCF Reflection Ball

The Midlands Community Foundation Reflection Ball is a fund-raising event for the communities of Sarpy and Cass counties.  Some of the area’s most active and influential business and community leaders and friends of Midlands Community Foundation gather to celebrate at this elegant charity ball which includes a formal dinner and dance.

Each year a decision is made to honor an individual or individuals who have contributed significantly to our community and the mission of the Foundation. Annually, the Midlands Community Foundation Board of Directors unanimously selects the Reflection Award Recipient(s). This recipient(s) is able to celebrate at the Ball with their family, friends and community for their loyal and selfless commitments.

The Reflection Ball generates much needed financial support for the programs and services within our community. At the beginning of the year, the Reflection Ball Committee Chair and Vice Chair present a slate of names to the Foundation’s Board of Directors for potential Proceeds Recipients. It is the hard work and dedication of the Reflection Ball Committee that has made an everlasting impact on our community.

For more information on Midlands Community Foundation’s Reflection Ball, contact us at 402-991-8027 or

MCF Reflection Award Recipients

1982 – Dixon Adams and Paul Watts
1983 – The Honorable George Stanley
1984 – Dr. G. Prentiss McArdle
1985 – Raymond G. Scott
1986 – Morris Miller
1987 – Wendell Kronberg
1988 – Wallace Sump
1989 – Karen Olson
1990 – MCH Auxiliary
1991 – Eugene Tschida
1992 – Tenth Anniversary
1993 – John and Mary Dolce
1994 – Kenneth E. Shives
1995 – Jack, Roy and Sid Dinsdale
1996 – R. Joe Dennis
1997 – Charlene Edwards
1998 – Diana Smalley
1999 – Wes and Ruby Turtscher
2000 – John B. Muller
2001 – 101 Club Charter Members
2002 – Dr. Michael Westcott
2003 – Senator Paul Hartnett
2004 – Dr. Patrick and Geri McKenna
2005 – Charles G. Smith
2006 – Jeff Renner and Susan Dennis
2007 – Al and Dottie Schmid
2008 – The Fricke Family
2009 – Ken and Charlotte Molzer
2010 – Lorenze and Janice Roloff
2011 – Dr. Jeffry and Lisa Strohmyer
2013 – Dave and Lori Pankonin
2014 – Dr. Chuck and Donna Wilcox
2015 – Bill and Evonne Williams
2016 – Dr. Harlan and Cherie Metschke & Dr. Rick and Kyle Black

Reflection Ball Committee

Reflection Ball Committee
Chairperson –

Committee Members
Kyle Black
Brenda Carlson
Jackie Davis
Jan Davis
Tami Field
Bindy Frederick
Mary Gawecki
Jill Govier
Mary Beth Harrold
Patricia Iske
Brandy Johnson
Carrie Krist
Bonnie Miller
Lori Pankonin
Karla Rupiper
Martha Sopinski
Leanne Sotak
Ken Summerfield
Donna Wilcox
Kris Zey

Fund Events

The following are upcoming events planned by charitable funds under Midlands Community Foundation’s umbrella.

2nd Annual Alex Shives Memorial Golf Tournament

Friday, August 19, 2016
Tara Hills Golf Course, Papillion, NE
Registration at 10:30 a.m.; Shotgun Start at Noon

Four-person scramble
$75 per player or $300 per team
(includes 18 holes of golf, cart rental and meal)

For more information or questions, please contact:
Chris Shives 402-490-1898 or Gary Shives 402-253-5032

All proceeds will go to support the Alex Shives Memorial Scholarship Fund and the Alex Shives Memorial Fund.

A Monster's Mission 1st Annual FootGolf Tournament

Saturday, September 24, 2016
Papio Greens Golf Center, 11050 South 66th Street, Papillion, NE
10 a.m. to 1 p.m.

$20 per player (includes 9 holes and lunch)
$75 hole sponsorship

For more information or to register, see our event flyer.

A Monster’s Mission was started by Tim and Erin Seretta after the tragic loss of their 7-month old son to Acute Myleoid Luekemia.  They now raise money to not only support awareness of AML, but also to help families in need.